And here we go

Before you begin reading, know that this post is like many (most) of my posts–rambling with really no deep thought or takeaway.

With that said…

Well, two training runs down. A sh#t ton more to go. This is going to be one, long training season. And damn it, I couldn’t be more excited! Really.

Sarah and I rocked out a nice mile run this evening in just under an hour and a half, and I realized that it will definitely be these medium-long runs that prove to be my biggest challenge. More than anything, I’ve typically lacked the motivation. I’m generally a 3-4 days per week and 30 miles/week + speed work type of runner. But I decided to go hardcore for the Chicago Marathon and try a more aggressive plan that builds up to as much as 55 miles/week. So as we look to eat out less and spend less money in general, I think this plan is going to work. I just need to buckle down, focus and make it through the Wednesday/Thursday runs of 9+ miles, and I’ll be fine. It’ll be a day-to-day challenge, but I’m ready for it.

So, my schedule this week includes 32 miles total and looks like this:

  • Monday – 7 mi w/ 10×100 strides
  • Wednesday – 9 mi
  • Thursday – Lifting
  • Friday – Lifting (morning) and 4 mi (evening)
  • Saturday – 12 mi

And, while the following has no relevance to running, these MVP commercials are my favorites right now, so I wanted to make sure everyone had a good laugh.

2 responses to “And here we go

  1. OOOOH I miss this training plan. You won’t believe the difference in the marathon this fall, you’ll feel so much better throughout the race and you’ll be a lot more confident going in. At least for me. Enjoy!

  2. no post of yours is complete without at least one typo. We rocked out a nice mile run in an hour and a half? Good grief, are we slow!

    and, Thursday morning lifting, FAIL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

