Tricking My Brain

Whenever I start to think about running/working out after work these days, my brain immediately starts to convince itself that it’s okay not to run a day here or a day there. Or that not doing speedwork or a tempo run is okay–I can just go out for a couple of miles, and in the end, it will all work itself out. Well, no more.

It may come as a surprise to many of you, but I think I’ve managed to trick my brain into purging these ridiculous excuses by identifying my big problems. They are:

1) No accountability; I just need to be more accountable. Sarah and I talked about this a bit a few weeks ago, and when it comes down to it, there isn’t a group of people saying “hey, where were you on XXX date?” It’s just Sarah and me. She’s been great about training. I’ve been “meh.”
2) Apathy – I just need to remind myself of why I want to run a 3:50, and that I’m not the type of person that can just go out and do it; I have to work for it.

In the end, I think the ultimate and most plausible solution is blogging. By writing down what I’m running (or suppose to run) it’s a constant reminder to get out and work towards this goal I’ve set. Even if no one else is reading, it’ll be a constant reminder for myself.

So last night, we ran 4 miles; nothing out of the ordinary, just ran.

Tonight, I’ll do some sort of tempo run. Not sure what that will be at this point, but I’ll do something.

One response to “Tricking My Brain

  1. Starting TONIGHT, I’m going to try a different discipline as well…

    I packed my running clothes and have them with me at my desk. Then, when I get off at 4:30 (half an hour earlier than most of this town…Early In / Early Out for me!) , I’ll change in the bathroom, and exit my bldg ready to go.

    Presumably, this will keep me from falling into the trap of talking myself out of running once I get home. More often than not, I head home with good intentions, but end up reading the mail, feeding the dog, folding some laundry…etc. Then I’m settled, and have to pick myself up, change clothes, etc… More often than not, it doesn’t happen.

    Who knows, perhaps this is merely a modified version of the old “put your running clothes by the coffee maker so it’s the first thing you see in the morning” trick. There is some accountability though, as people have been asking me about my bag, sitting right by my desk.

    We shall see…

    Yah, US!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

